Chip Off the ‘Ole Block

One day, I sat at my desk reflecting on a Bible verse and message in a card while waiting on a call from the Nominating Committee of the National Association of Junior Auxiliaires.  The call was to discuss where I might fit in best on the Board of Directors in 2008/2009.  I had indicated an interest in being considered for First Vice President, which would mean leading the Association as President in 2009/2010.  It would be a huge responsibility leading an association of 14,000 women in 8 states across the south.  The words of the card and the Bible verse at the bottom of it gave me a peace that if I was chosen by the Nominating Committee, God knew it was part of the plan for my life.   The card read:

“Just think…you’re here not by chance, but by God’s choosing.  His hand formed you and made you the person you are. He compares you to no one else – you are one of a kind.  You lack nothing that His grace can’t give you.  He has allowed you to be here at this time in history to fulfill his special purpose for this generation.” 

‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’  Jeremiah 29:11

The call came in, and I had a long conversation with the committee who asked thoughtful, serious questions.  I was at peace with whatever decision they made.  I knew God had a plan.  Later that day, after driving to Memphis to meet a friend, a call came from Carol Caruso.  The nominating committee had slated me as First Vice President of NAJA, which meant I was President-Elect.  What an overwhelming joy!

What a blessing to know that I would spend the next few years working closely with women who had the same passion as I did about serving children.  I know now that God put me in that position for a reason, and it wasn’t to help NAJA.  It was for NAJA to bless me.  I grew as a person, as a Christian, and as a friend the next two years. 

When the email went out that I had been slated as First Vice President, I got a sweet message right away from my friend Jody Clark who lives in Alabama to congratulate me on being slated.  At the bottom of Jody’s email was a Bible verse.  She had no idea that the verse she chose to share with me was the exact same one that had been on the card I had read before the interview.  Jeremiah 29:11 – ‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord!

My friend Amy Mims is a wonderful artist.  When I found out she had begun to paint Bible verses on blocks of wood discarded by her mom, who is also a wonderful artist, I asked her to paint that verse for me.  It came in the mail today, along with another verse she chose for my step-daughter Lesley who is getting married in a couple of weeks.  Now, that verse in Jeremiah sits in my kitchen window so I can reflect on that wonderful memory and the meaning this verse has in my life.  What a blessing to know that God knows the plans he has for us – plans to prosper us!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Collections, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chip Off the ‘Ole Block

  1. Janet says:

    That verse in Jeremiah is a constant source of comfort to me, too, Christy…a promise I often claim! Your painted version is so neat! And about your role in JA being a blessing to you….isn’t that always the way it is? You try to do something for others and you wind up with a lapful of blessing yourself! We just can’t outgive God….

    Like

  2. What a lovely and inspirational post. I love the painted blocks. A wonderful way to have an inspirational verse close at hand (and you get to remember a good friend at the same time)! Christy – you are a blessing to all who know you!

    Like

  3. kim whitten says:

    LOVE those awesome reminders!
    Amazing what the power of prayer and trust in God can do in our lives. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

