Miles to go for a good book…

Last night, a book club I am a member of met to pick our books for the coming year.   I’m always like a little kid when we pick books — so excited about the new selections.  I went straight to the library today to find copies of the books we chose, even though I know we have a whole year to read them.  The Mountain Home Reading Society is an awesome group of women who have been reading together for years.  Lucky for me, when I moved to Mountain Home, I was able to join their group.  Leaving my book club, the Second Sunday Book Club of McComb, Mississippi, was sad for me a few years ago when I moved to Arkansas.  We had read 100 books together when I moved away and, let me tell you, you develop quite a bond with a group of women after discussing 100 books!

That’s why, when I moved to Mountain Home, I was excited to be asked to join the Mountain Home Reading Society.  They too had read 100 books together when I joined them, so I was thrilled that they were willing to let someone new into their fold.  What a blessing these sweet women are in my life. We meet once a month in various members’ homes and have done other fun things together – like going to Eureka Springs to spend the night in a haunted hotel when we read Jane Eyre. I’m also a member of a new book club, the Whoa Day Book Club — I honestly could meet and talk about books every night of the week.   It’s amazing how much fun women have when they get together, drink wine, and eat a good meal while talking about what they have read lately.   The books we chose this year all sound wonderful!

Here is the list:

Mountain Home Reading Society 2010-11

No Great Mischief  by Alistair Macleod

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter & Sweet by Jamie Ford

The Hour I First Believed  by Wally Lamb

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

Those Who Save Us by Jenna Blum

Sotah by Naomi Ragen

It’s going to be a good year for reading!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Books, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

