Miles to go for a “thought for today”…

My friend Stacy is the granddaughter of Vada Sheid.  Vada is a legendary political figure in Arkansas, being the first woman elected to both the Arkansas House and the Senate.  As Stacy and I were putting together some items for a display in the newest building on our campus, the Vada Sheid Community Development Center, we found lots of poems Vada had collected through the years.   It seems she loved to pass out little cards with poems and other “thoughts” that meant something special to her.

I particularly love this poem that Vada shared with friends on a bright yellow card.  I’m tucking it away in my Bible to pull out from time to time as a reminder that today is truly a gift!

Today (Author Anonymous)

My life is a gift of God given, not in years, but a day at a time.  Today is the day the Lord has made for me, and he planned it to be the most important day of my life.

Yesterday is gone, never to return.  I must not worry about it, but leave it in the hands of God.  Tomorrow and all that it holds is God’s secret and its coming is not assured.

Only today is mine.  Each day, arranged by God with infinite wisdom and goodness is his gift, His act of love for me.  In thanksgiving I will offer Him every day the gift of myself – my prayers, works, joys and sufferings.

Dear Lord, receive it graciously.

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miles to go for a “thought for today”…

  1. Pingback: Miles to go to see how my first year of blogging went… | Miles to go…

Leave a Reply

