Miles to go for puppy love…

I’m a dog lover and friends know I want to smooch on their new puppies when they get them.  Today, a friend brought his new standard poodle named Maximilian by my office for some sugar.  He is only 12 weeks old, and already I had a hard time picking him up.  He’s going to be a big boy!  Max is the new baby of Ron Switzer and Jim McClure.  They divide their time between Natchez, MS, Mountain Home, AR and Detroit, MI.  Max has to learn how to roll with the boys if he’s going to make it, because these guys are on the road constantly.  So far, Max has only thrown up on Jim in the car twice.  This is the fourth black standard poodle the guys have had and I think they have met their match.  Maximilian is going to rule the roost!   Gosh, I love puppy breath!

A Puppy’s Prayer

Now I lay me down to sleep,

The king-size bed is soft and deep.

I sleep right in the center groove

My human being can hardly move!

I’ve trapped her legs, she’s tucked in tight

And here is where I pass the night

No one disturbs me or dares intrude

Till morning comes and “I want food!”

I sneak up slowly to begin

my nibbles on my human’s chin.

She wakes up quickly,

I have sharp teeth-

I’m a puppy, don’t you see?

For the morning’s here

and it’s time to play

I always seem to get my way.

So thank you Lord for giving me

This human person that I see.

The one who hugs and holds me tight

And shares her bed with me at night!

Unknown

 

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

