Miles to go to sit a spell…

“Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.” Ruth 1: 16

I love trips to Greenwood to be with my husband’s family.  Since the first time I visited them, I knew I loved them with all of my heart.   My sister-in-law lives in the same house she and Bud grew up in.  Inside there are portraits of family members and beautiful antique furniture and outside there is an enormous tree that Bud could “jump” when he was a little boy.   My favorite place to be in that house is on the screened-in-porch.  A big, deep porch swing and several wicker rocking chairs are the perfect spot to curl up and have a good talk about old times.  Enormous pink azaleas are just beyond the screen and the puppy dogs pout by the back door wanting to sit a spell too.   There is a hand-painted sign that says “What if the hokey pokey really is what it’s all about?” and it makes me smile every time I see it.   It’s one thing to love the husband you’ve chosen as your life’s partner, but it’s not always a given that you’ll love his family too.  One of my greatest blessings of married life has been my husband’s family and the relationship I have had with them…Muh, Mary Ethel, Gene, Rebecca, Joe, Margaret, Keirn, Power, Rebecca Durden, and the babies.   His people are my people, for sure, and I love to sit on that porch and give thanks that they are my family too.

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Family, Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miles to go to sit a spell…

  1. Janet says:

    It is such a blessing to gain a second loving family when you marry. I can’t remember when I didn’t think of Stan’s grandparents as my grandparents…and on and on. I feel sorry for those who don’t (or can’t) have the same wonderful experience. That porch is so warm and welcoming….I want to sit a spell!

    Like

  2. Rebecca Seawright says:

    That was sooo sweet. I kept thinking that picture looked familiar to me this morning, then I realized it was our porch! Aren’t I crazy? Anyway, we love you too and are so fortunate to have you and all your talents in our family. We are all looking forward to Thanksgiving in Mt. Home. Did Bud think you had lost your mind inviting all of us?Love you.

    Like

  3. RD Seawright says:

    I love it, Christy! What a sweet tribute. Thank you for that! WE LOVE YOU, TOO!! Come back and sit on Ya Ya’s porch again soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

