Miles to go for Flashback Friday…

My mother loved to sunbathe and I loved to hang out with my mother, so I set up a make-shift lounge with a tin tub behind our apartment in Greenwood so I could be just like her.  She was so glamorous in her two-piece bathing suit, cat-eye sunglasses, painted fingernails and dramatic up-do.  I think I missed the mark with the tin tub!  These days,  I’ve given up the sun and embraced my white skin in hopes of avoiding skin cancer that surely is hovering after many youthful days of blistering at the Fernwood Country Club.   My friends and I mixed iodine with baby oil and soaked up the sun for hours on end.  Once I got so blistered, my mother made me walk to Dr. Fry’s house, a couple of blocks away, to show him what I had done and ask for a remedy for the pain I was in.   I wish I could say I learned my lesson after that humiliating trip around the block, but it wasn’t until after I married a light-haired, blue-eyed man who has fought skin cancer his entire adult life, that I became scared straight.  No more sun for me.  I’ll be the old lady on the beach covered from head to toe, reading a book with a drink in my hand, listening to the waves come in.  The days of glamorous sunbathing for me are over!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Family, Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miles to go for Flashback Friday…

  1. kim whitten says:

    That picture makes me smile!
    Don’t you just love old pictures with such grand memories and stories behind them?
    Happy New Year my friend and many blessings to you and yours in 2011!

    Like

Leave a Reply

