Miles to go to feel comfortable in front of the camera…

Week 1 Photo Submission

52-Week Self-Portrait Project

I’m taking part in a 52-week photography project this year.  It’s the end of week 1 and  I had no idea this would be so tough when I signed up to do this.  My friend Kim, who has the same job I do at a college down the road, made it look so effortless last year, that I thought it would be a good exercise to participate in.   Gosh, it’s hard work!  I am using a Canon Rebel XT that I use for work, so that I can learn more about how to take better shots for my job.  I’ve never had a photography class, so I’ve had to jump in and swim without knowing how to even dog-paddle!  Editing and adding effects are a whole new ballgame for me too.  For this project I’m starting my editing with Picnik because it’s so user friendly.  I hope to graduate to Photoshop before I finish the 52 weeks, but so far, Picnik is giving me what I want.  The first week, I shot photo after photo with no luck.  Finally, I convinced a friend to go have coffee with me at a cool little shop in town, so that I could relax.  I put the camera on the top of a game box and had to turn it on its side to find the right spot for our shoot.  Thankfully, Kristina helped me settle down and enjoy myself over a cup of warm coffee.  The photo I submitted was picked by friends on facebook who helped me vote.  While I still feel uncomfortable in front of the camera, and hate using a timer and tripod, I find myself thinking about my next shot almost immediately after I’ve settled on my week’s post.  This is going to be a lot of work, but a lot of fun too.  Here’s to 52 weeks of getting more comfortable with my equipment…and of getting more comfortable in front of the camera!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Collections, Experiences, Friends, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miles to go to feel comfortable in front of the camera…

  1. kim whitten says:

    YAY for you for jumping in with both feet!
    I am so excited about your photos so far. You are going to have no problem with this and I do hope you learn more about the camera and editing from the process. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

