Miles to go for a Southerner’s prayer…

A Southerner’s Prayer

Just had to stop and thank ‘ya, Lord,

For a place that I hold dear…

A place that’s filled with “Y’all come back!”

And “Sit ‘cherself down here!”

A magnolia-scented place it is…

A land of by-gone days,

Of “Southern Belles” and riverboats

And slower, pleasing ways.

Yes, thank ‘ya, Lord, for cotton fields,

For pecans and muscadines…

For that “Southern Hospitality”

That all here seem to find.

For a place where one finds lazy dreams

And slow, soft-spoken drawls…

Plantations stretching to the sky

Where “Old Man River” calls.

I reckon that I’ve said it all;

No place I’d rather be.

The South – that’s what we call it, Lord…

This land that’s home to me.

–Anne Henry

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Experiences, Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miles to go for a Southerner’s prayer…

  1. wolfsrosebud says:

    Beautiful picture of the south is in your writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

