Miles to go for Mississippi State Sin…

Last week, I stopped at Serenity Farm Bakery in Leslie, Arkansas, for several loaves of their incredible fresh-baked bread.  I try to always stop at the roadside bakery on my way to and from Little Rock, but this time I ventured into the tiny town of Leslie to their location where the brick oven is actually baking every day.

What a neat place!  I bought several loaves of sourdough bread and a special fruit-filled loaf with apples, raisins, walnuts and honey.  I was tossing around several ideas for using the bread when I remembered a favorite recipe I hadn’t made in a while…Mississippi State Sin.  It’s out of Bully’s Best Bites, a collection of recipes from Mississippi State University alumni and friends that were compiled by the Junior Auxiliary of Starkville.  I served the dip in a hollowed-out loaf of Serenity Farm sourdough bread at book club Monday night, and it was a hit.  I’ll share the recipe, but unless you travel to Leslie, AR, for a loaf of Serenity’s amazing bread, I can’t promise you’ll get the same rave reviews I did.

Mississippi State Sin

1 loaf French bread

1 1/2 cups sour cream

2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

1 8-ounce package cream cheese

1/3 cup chopped green onion

1/2 cup chopped ham

1/3 cup chopped green chilies

Dash Worcestershire sauce

Slice off the top of bread loaf and hollow out inside.  Mix all ingredients and pour into hollowed bread.  Put top back on, wrap in foil and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Serve as a dip with hollowed out pieces of bread, crackers or chips.

http://www.serenityfarmbread.us/

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Food, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

