Miles to go for Flashback Friday…

I’ve always loved the circus…and in May of 1969, my granddaddy took me to see Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey -The Greatest Show on Earth – in Jackson, MS.  I just knew Gunther Gebel-Williams would jump down off the back of that big tiger and come through the crowd to take my hand and sweep me away!  He made his debut with Ringling Brothers in January of that year and was the star of the show.  Anyone been to the circus lately?  It’s that time of year!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miles to go for Flashback Friday…

  1. Jane Tucker Bond says:

    Way back in the 1950s Ringling Brothers came to Greenwood on a circus train! They unloaded at the train station on Carrollton Ave. about 5 Am and my dad took my sister and me to watch the wagons go down to an area near Supreme Electronics and set up the big top with three rings! We watched the elephants put up the tent and then went back that night for the show! In 1969 or 1970 I took my oldest son to see Ringling Brothers in New Orleans, and a few years later brought my youngest son to Jackson to see it. Two years ago I took my grandson down to the Coliseum to see Ringling Brothers! This year, I will take my granddaughter! Wanna go? See you all in Greenwood in a couple of weeks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

