Miles to go to see Oreo cows…

There is a farm on the way to Jonesboro from Mountain Home that has the most incredible herd of cows I’ve ever seen.  I call them Oreo Cows because they look like double-stuff perfection.  I’m amazed that I’ve never seen them before because EVERYONE who has cows should have at least one or two Oreo’s.

The black and white belted cows are Belted Galloways, a rare breed of Scottish beef cattle that was introduced to the United States back in the 1950’s.  They are born with their “belts” and farmers have worked hard over the years to perfect the straight lines of the belts through selective breeding.

If I had a farm, I would have to have an Oreo cow or two just for the pure joy of watching them graze.  I nearly run off the road looking for them every time I head toward Jonesboro and usually they oblige me with a glance toward the highway.  Pure double-stuff love!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miles to go to see Oreo cows…

  1. Janet Taber says:

    I love oreo cows, too….have tried to convince my farmboy that we need some, but he thinks only in terms of productivity and marketability….forget the aesthetics….but maybe someday….aren’t those babies the sweetest?

    Like

  2. Christy says:

    Janet, I don’t think there is any way in the world I could be without an Oreo cow if I lived on your farm! One Oreo isn’t too much to ask for, is it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

