Miles to go for a Delta Wedding…

Eudora Welty wrote about them, and today I’m headed to one.  A Delta Wedding, that is. One where the entire family will gather to celebrate the youngest child’s marriage.  It will be one of those awesome Delta experiences with lots of food and libations and lots of drama.  We’re spending tonight at the Shack Up Inn and tomorrow night at the Alluvian – how’s that for Delta diversity?  At the reception, to be held on the lawn of a beautiful Delta home, old band-mates Duff Dorrough and Fish Michie, founding members of The Tangents, will be playing.  I’m sure I’ll cry when RD walks down the isle, and probably will sniff through the whole wedding.  She was just a baby when her “Unky Bud” and I got married.  She’s the one in the middle of the picture below with the baby blue satin bow around her waist.  Precious RD, growing up and becoming a wife.   Somebody pass me a mint julep – it’s a Delta Wedding weekend!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

