Miles to go for a 52 week project…

Fifty two weeks ago, I committed to a project that I wasn’t sure I could finish.  A friend of mine, Kim Whitten, coordinated a self-portrait photography group with only one goal:  take a self portrait once a week for 52 weeks.  There weren’t any rules, just the promise to take a photo of yourself once a week.  Easier said than done.  Turning the lens on yourself is an incredible challenge.  I jumped in to learn more about the camera, as a big part of my job is to take photos of special events and people on campus.  I’ve always enjoyed photography, but wanted to take it to the next level and learn more about editing, too.

All of us have hang-ups about how we look in photos, and when you are also worried about lighting, focus, framing, posing, editing and posting the photos for the world to see every week, it can be overwhelming.  But, I did it.  I finished.  I especially had fun documenting the places I traveled during the project’s timeline:  Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Maine, Dallas, Memphis, Washington, and more than once, the Mississippi Delta.  The project was an incredible learning experience and one that wouldn’t have been the same, had our subject been something other than ourselves.  Thank you, Kim Whitten, for organizing our effort this year.  My husband and friends probably saw more pictures of me than they cared to this last 52 weeks, but I appreciate their support and thank them for being nice about it.  They also helped scout out locations and haul equipment through this fun project, and most importantly, made me smile!  Thanks!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Experiences, Friends, Memories, Photography, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Miles to go for a 52 week project…

  1. Janet Taber says:

    Do you have a favorite????

    Like

  2. tanisharenee74 says:

    You took some really fabulous photos, Christy. I really enjoyed getting a glimpse of the amazing places you visited!

    Like

  3. Christy says:

    I do, Janet. It’s the one of me and Bud on the creek bank sneaking a smooch. It was just my second or third week. It’s dreamy misty and dreamy and I love it!

    Like

  4. Christy says:

    It’s the third one down on the left-hand column, by the way. 🙂

    Like

  5. Johnnie Tolleson says:

    What a blessing this has been. I admire you
    for accepting this challenge. I looked forward
    to each one and they all brightened my days.
    Thanks for being the wonderful person you
    are. Many blessings to you and Bud!

    Like

  6. Christy says:

    Johnnie, thank you so much for your sweet words. You are a real friend with the sweetest heart I’ve ever known. Bud and I love you! Christy

    Like

Leave a Reply

