Miles to go for the DAR…

We always made fun of my grandmother because she never stopped learning or teaching.  She was active in the Daughters of the American Revolution, read the Bible in Spanish every day, and belonged to a club where they did book reports – now I realize that was a book club.  When I was a young girl, I thought it was just bizarre that she constantly studied.  Today, I realize she was one of the smartest women I have ever known.  My grandmother took me to the Holy Land when I was in the 7th grade.  She was a Sunday school teacher and wanted to show me all the places we studied in the Bible.  Even before that, she took my mother, my aunt and me to Mexico City to visit Frida Kahlo’s home and the studio of Diego Rivera.  She taught Spanish and wanted to immerse herself in the culture of Mexico for the sake of her students. Grandmother taught British literature at Hazlehurst High School and visited Europe so many times, I can’t even count them.   She had beautiful hardback volumes of Beowulf, Chaucer and Shakespeare on her bookshelves. One of her great loves was the study of genealogy.  As an active member of the DAR, she traced her family’s lineage back to a Revolutionary War hero, Prescott Bush.  Today, I’m interested in the things that she was too.  I am sick that she isn’t here so I can ask her a million questions about our travel and my ancestors.   I recently came across a little book she and I worked on together one summer.  My aunt did the illustration and calligraphy, and I got a lot of undeserved credit from the local chapter of the DAR who awarded me an essay contest award for the piece.  We laughed at how my grandmother loved the DAR, and now I’m itching to explore joining myself.  See, Christine, you did get through to us!

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

