Miles to go for Vada’s Favorite Motivators…

today_i_am_choosing

A good friend of mine recently sent an email with a list of “motivators” that her grandmother swore by.  The lady was a highly respected leader in Arkansas who was elected to both the Arkansas House and Senate. If these thoughts inspired her, they are good enough for me! This list is from Vada Sheid, as sent to friends by her granddaughter Stacy, in honor of Vada’s birthday.

Vada’s Favorite Motivators

  1. Just for today I will try to live through this day only, and not set far-reaching goals to try to overcome all my problems at once.   I know I can do something for 12 hours that would appall me if I felt that I had to keep it up for a lifetime.
  2. Just for today I will try to be happy.  Abraham Lincoln said, “Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” He was right.  I will not dwell on thoughts that depress me.  I will chase them out of my mind and replace them with happy thoughts.
  3. Just for today I will adjust myself to what is.  I will face reality.  I will try to change those things I can change and accept those things I cannot.
  4. Just for today I will try to improve my mind. I will not be a mental loafer.  I will force myself to read something that requires effort, thought and concentration.
  5. Just for today I will exercise my soul in three ways, I will do a good deed for somebody- without letting them know.  I will do at least two things that I know I should but have been putting off.  I will not show anyone that my feelings are hurt; they may be hurt but I will not show it.
  6. Just for today I will be agreeable.  I will look as well as I can, dress becomingly, talk softly, act courteously and speak ill of no one.  Just for today Ill not try to improve anybody but myself.
  7. Just for today I will have a program.  I may not follow it exactly, but I will have it, thereby saving myself from two pests: hurry and indecision.
  8. Just for today I will find at least 10 minutes to relax alone.  During this time I will reflect on my behavior and will try to get a better perspective on life.
  9. Just for today I will be unafraid.  I will gather the courage to do what is right and take responsibility for my own actions.  I will expect nothing from the world, but I will realize that as I give to the world, the world will give to me!
About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

