Miles to go to see Jesus…

I’ve been so blessed to be a part of the work of the National Association of Junior Auxiliaries for over 15 years now.  This incredible organization of over 14,000 women does so much for children in over 100 communities in 8 states.  At every meeting, this prayer is shared…

Send us, O God, as Thy messengers to the hearts without a home, to lives without love, to the crowds without a guide.  Send us to the children whom none have blessed, to the famished whom none have visited, to the fallen whom none have lifted, to the bereaved whom none have comforted.

Kindle thy flame on the altars of our hearts, that others may be warmed thereby; cause Thy light to shine in our souls, that others may see the way; keep our sympathies and insight ready, our wills keen, our hands quick to help others in their need.

Grant us clear vision, true judgement, with great daring as we seek to right the wrong; and so endow us with cheerful love that we may minister to the suffering and forlorn – even as Thou wouldst. May the blessing of God Almighty, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, rest upon us and upon all our work. May He give us light to guide us, courage to support us, and love to unite us now and forever more.

Amen

Imagine the power of that prayer being repeated by thousands and thousands of women for years and years!

prayer

At a recent gathering of the NAJA Foundation Board of Trustees, Celia Ford of Columbus, MS, shared the following poem in addition to the NAJA prayer.  The poem was written by an 11 year old girl, and shows the power of service in the name of Jesus.

I See Jesus

I saw Jesus last week.  He was wearing blue jeans and an old shirt. He was up at the church building; he was alone and working hard. For just a minute, he looked a little like one of our members. But it was Jesus…I could tell by his smile.

I saw Jesus last Sunday. He was teaching a Bible class. He didn’t talk very loud or use long words. But you could tell he believed what he said. For just a minute, he looked like my Bible teacher.  But it was Jesus…I could tell by his loving voice.

I saw Jesus yesterday. He was at the hospital visiting a friend who was sick. They prayed together quietly. For just a minute, he looked like our preacher. But it was Jesus…I could tell by the tears in his eyes.

I saw Jesus this morning. He was in my kitchen making my breakfast and fixing me a special lunch. For just a minute, he looked like my mom.  But it was Jesus…I could feel the love from his heart.

I see Jesus everywhere…taking food to the sick, welcoming others to his home, being friendly to a newcomer, helping children in need. And just for a minute, I think he’s someone I know.  But it’s always Jesus…I can tell by the way he serves.

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miles to go to see Jesus…

  1. Janet Taber says:

    Wonderful, Christy! I hope you won’t mind if I share this sometime — it deserves to be shared.

    Like

  2. Jo says:

    How powerful…….Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Kathy Wells says:

    I have read and reread with tears brought to my eyes. Thanks for sharing and reminding me this is why we serve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

