Miles to go for Flashback Friday…

We always celebrated Christmas at my grandmother & granddaddy’s house in Georgetown, MS, when I was growing up.  It was a real treat to see how my granddaddy decorated the Christmas tree each year.  It was something he did all by himself;  my grandmother had nothing to do with it and had no say in the color scheme each year.  It’s hard for me to imagine not taking control of the Christmas decorating at my house, but that was just something my granddaddy always was in charge of.  I remember the year of the silver metallic tree with the color wheel light that shined on it.  I remember the year of the tree with red birds.  I remember the trees he brought in from the farm that were lanky with very few branches.  This one, on my very first Christmas, happened to be flocked with green balls, and I can just see him planning for it to be extra special for me.  He was particular about the colors he chose and usually only had one color of balls on a tree at a time.  None of those “homemade” ornaments or collectibles for him.  What I know now is that he was a very sensitive man who understood beauty and who took pride in preparing a special Christmas for me.  What an angel my granddaddy was.  I always miss him most at Christmastime.

About ckeirn

This is an account of my life’s journey – road trips, places in my heart, people and things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miles to go for Flashback Friday…

  1. kim whitten says:

    what wonderful memories!
    I suppose everybody’s grandparents/parents had one of those color wheel lights. 🙂

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    I think you WANT to get that green ornament! Very sweet story of your grandfather, who must have an unusual (in a good way) man.

    Like

    • He was very unusual, Janet, in a good way! My husband has asked me before if he was “manly” because I always talk about the sensitive things he did. And, he was VERY manly. Just sensitive. Awesome is a better word to describe him. Just awesome!

      Like

Leave a comment